Origin of the Tudor Dynasty
Dadlington is a hamlet situated in the county of Leicestershire, England. It is administered by Hinckley and Bosworth District Council and is situated between Hinckley and Nuneaton.
For much of its existance its populace has concentrated solely around the Village Green; therefore a vast majority of Dadlington's most prominent landmarks surround it. These include a church, an 18th century pub, village hall and hotel. Shortly after World War II Dadlington extended in a ribbon development towards Stoke Golding.
Before the Norman Conquest of England, Leofric the Earl of Mercia (husband of Lady Godiva) gave Dadlington to Coventry Priory; and in the reign of Henry I ownership passed to Hugh de Hastings.
The gallery is a collection of images taken in and around the area of Dadlington. The purpose of the gallery is to highlight the village's key areas and show the true beauty of such a diverse area. Dadlington is considered by many 'a hidden gem in the Leicestershire countryside'.
Click on a photo to expand it:
Quote from William Burton's Description of Leicestershire (1622)
"This Town stands upon a little hill, having a discent every way; it is not far from Bosworth, and near to the place where King Richard the Third fought the battle. The soil is generally exceeding good, both for corn and grafs, found and certain, not inferior to any within that Hundred. It is in the parish of Hinkley, and has a Chapel dedicated to St. James, in the church-yard, whereof many of the dead bodies (slain at the said battle) were buried."
Located in the north-west corner of the Green is an an 18th century pub, the Dog and Hedgehog. The pub closed briefly in December 2008 but reopened its doors in 2011 under new management. Its picturesque location close to the Ashby Canal and Bosworth Battlefield make it a popular attraction for tourists.
The Parish Church of St. James the Greater, built during the Middle Ages, is the oldest landmark in Dadlington. It is situated on a hill, to the north of the Green, overlooking the Bosworth Battlefield where King Richard III was slain in 1485.
Built in 1885 by Reverend Henry Lomax, the Parish Room was converted and enlarged into the Village Hall in 1983. It serves as a communal hub for the village and its inhabitants. In March 2015 it was decorated to commemorate the reinterment of King Richard III.
Originally a quarry in the centre of the village, the Village Green was filled and levelled in the mid-twentieth century creating the open area known as 'The Green' that we see today.